Music Under Construction:
The Composers
Carolyn Lord image
Carolyn Lord
Carolyn Lord image
Carolyn Lord is a composer and choreographer. She received a B.A. in Slavic languages from the University of Chicago and a M.M. in music composition from Mannes College of Music. For many years she has had a distinguished career as a choreographer, dancer and Artistic Director of her company, Carolyn Lord and Dancers, but has increasingly turned her focus to the composition of new music.

Since 1993 she has received numerous commissions from instrumentalists and dance companies. In 1994 her score for the evening-length Rock Stream House by Bryan Hayes and Dancers was performed at Dia Arts Foundation, and her Sonata for Percussion was performed by Talujon Percussion Quartet. Other works have been performed by the Manhattan Brass Quintet and Broken Consort Chamber Ensemble, and in 1996 her work To C for piano and chamber ensemble was premiered by the New Music Ensemble of the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music.

Ms. Lord is also Director of Music Under Construction, a new music producing organization based in New York, which sponsors approximately 10 programs of contemporary chamber music each year. She has received grants from Meet the Composer and the New York State Council on the Arts.
Carolyn Lord's List of Works & Dance Reviews
Return to The Composers' Main Page

web site designed by MFM

© 2000-2008 The Construction Company
All rights reserved.